Remembrance and gratitude

Today I sit, move, teach, and learn without fear of war in the place I call home. Today I stand. Tomorrow I will do the same, and each day hereafter.

622px-lest_we_forget

photo by Hobvias Sudoneighm – Flickr, CC BY-SA2.0,

This week I seek to honour those who have sacrificed so much while never knowing the countless lives that were made better by their actions. This week I stand with those who have served.

This month I receive a torch; as mine to hold high to guard the flames of bravery, selflessness, virtue, and kindness that make our nation a light on a hill. This month I stand for those who serve.

This year I pause, again, to remember that those who have come before me have not served in vain. This year I stand for those who will serve in the future.

In my life there is still work to be done.

But for now, I am taking time to be still, to look back, and give thanks.
Lest we forget.

Leave a Reply

